Success, Failure, and Compromise

Posted: June 24, 2013 in Free Styling, Gaming, Reviews
Tags: , , , , ,

Let no one every tell you that perseverance doesn’t pay off, because I have way too many examples to offer you from my life for that to be reasonably true. More specifically, I’m referring to my fruitless job search. I’ve been plugging away at all my options for weeks now, and I’ve finally won! This past week, I was offered a position Quality Control Technician at an A/V presentation company called Freeman.

34927310

It all-in-all took 3 interviews to get there, but at long last the senior hiring manager saw enough in me that he liked that he extended me an off, which I gladly accepted. I’ll start with them after July 4th, so I’ll need to make the best of the complete freedom that I have left.

I’ll probably start by trying to knock off some more of the movies off my Summer Watch List. I’m a little bit behind right now, but I did get to see Man of Steel since the last time I did a review. I’m prepared to render my judgement on the movie, but I may need to toss in a few SPOILERS to adequately get my point across, so if you don’t want to have any plot points or story details ruined for you, skip to the end of this review.

man-of-steel-poster

So, Man of Steel, the Superman movie of this decade. This movie had a lot going for it…intense action, a very strong cast, and a very followable storyline. All things considered though, this movie fell awfully short. That’s even considering that I walked into this film with low expectations, and I still left somewhat disappointed. One of the things that killed the movie for me was the origin story. It was told well, but it’s been told so many times. I feel like even non-Superman fans know what his deal is. “Hey, do you know where Superman comes from?” “Krypton, right?” “Yea, I think you’re right.” Maybe they felt like it was necessary to better set up the villain, but I was dreading seeing it…and there it was. Another thing that I had a problem with was…earmuffs guys, SPOILER, Superman didn’t save the day. Yea, he defeated the villain(s), but he completely let Metropolis get destroyed. Like, the entire city, broken up like Saltines in a soup. He was a main contributing factor to it as well, carelessly tossing his foes through building with complete disregard to the buildings and their occupants. And after a false ending, he comes back to a repaired city, where no one addresses what he did. “Oh, we spent billions of dollars getting the city back on it’s feet…what’s up Superdude!” Dafuq? That’s one thing I loved about The Avengers; at the end of the movie they had those news broadcasts where some of the citizens ask that the Avengers be held accountable for what happened to the city. /SPOILER. Another thing that I had a problem with is that I never felt a strong connection with any of the characters, I never felt invested. Not Lois, not Ma and Pa Kent, not even the biological parents, Jor-El and Lara Lor-Van. I felt not even a tiny tug on the heart strings when they parished in the destruction of Krypton.

What I’m trying to say is that my overall feeling for the movie is…blah. And this is a superhero movie, you’re suposed to walk out feeling  pumped, patriotic, and faux-powerful. Meh was the exact sentiment I exited the theater with. I’m just glad that I didn’t go in with high hopes for the movie, only to have them brought crashing down…with Metropolis.
Man of Steel4 out of 10

Whatever. I ain’t mad. On the contrary, I’m pretty happy. I know I just got a job, but I’ve got more to be happy about as well. Microsoft has pulled a complete 180 in regards to their DRM policy for the Xbox One. I went in to the DRM policies of the One on my June 2nd post, and again some of the backlash on my last post, but all of that can be tossed out of the window after a press release this past week. So what does that mean for potential buyers of the One? Here’s what changes Microsoft has claimed they will make to the X1’s functionality.

  • No more always online requirement
  • No more 24-hour check-in
  • Game discs will function on the X1 as they do now on the 360
  • No more authentication
  • Internet only required with initial console setup
  • All downloaded games will function the same whether being played offline or online.
  • No additional restrictions on traded on loaned games
  • No more region locks

A lot of people are saying that this is Microsoft backpedaling, trying to save their console and their bottom line before the Next Generation War has even begun. There’s obvious antagonism in that sentiment, and while it’s probably true, I choose to see things a little differently.

Everyone was up in arms after the initial announcement of the Xbox One’s DRM policies, and it was painstakingly apparent at E3 that consumers wanted blood, despite the fanfare. But Microsoft, at that point, decided to do what most good companies do when their consumers turn against them…listen to them. I don’t see this as Microsoft backpedaling…more rather them taking the high road and giving their customers what they want. Isn’t that the first rule of business…the customer is always right? I applaud them for having the humility to admit that they were wrong, and in trying to do something innovative…failed their market. If you want to read their corporate release, straight from the horse’s mouth, you can check it out here.

All in all, this past week has worked out absolutely swimmingly. I’m not sure when I’ll get around to my next post, as I’ll be out of town this coming weekend. I’ll get around to it, I promise…I always do at some point, right? Till then…

Keep your heads up, your minds sharp, and your hearts open.

– CVSleen

My hasty version of a Shooter Sandwich

My hasty version of a Shooter Sandwich

Leave a Reply

