Afternoon ladies and gents! Thanks for coming back. I missed you <3. I’ve hit Dead Week at school finally. This semester has been so long, but it’s just about over. It’ll nice to have a little more time on my hands. More time to watch more TV…with extremely poor commercials. And that brings us to tonights word…Equipment Misuse

Oh wait, that’s Stephen Colbert’s thing. My bad. Dang, now I’ve got to return all those set dressings.
Equipment Misuse…things I see in media that just annoy me to all ends. I see things every day that just make me wonder…why? This is so…wrong. You need to go back and fix this. I have 2 things for you today.

1) Commercials that have virtually nothing to do with their product.

Have you ever seen that commercial, and wondered immediately afterwards, “What the hell just happened right there?” Here is a prime example. If they didn’t toss up the name of the product at the beginning or the end, I would have had no idea what was being advertised in the first place.


I’m thinking all the way through that, maybe this is some futuristic sports movie, like Real Steel or Hunger Games, but no. Just an off the wall vodka commercial. This commercial is bad, but it is by no means the worst.

You’ve all probably seen this commercial before, but try and step back for a moment and try and figure out what is being advertised before the last five seconds.


Car commercials are another prime example of the, “What are they adver…oh, okay”ism. Everyone will recognize this one, and though we know what is being advertised here, KIA is really starting to push their limits here.


That’s not nearly as bad as the perfume commercial, but you see where I’m going here. There are a lot of car commercial Directors/Producers nowadays that would like to think themselves as artists far more than is necessary. This is a commercial. You have a product to advertise, and it should be the primary focus of the commercial. Yea, leaving someone “What the f***?”ing at the end of a commercial will make them remember it, but in 30 minutes they won’t remember the product, just the WTF the commercial showcased. Guys, product first.

In kind of the same way, you can have a product play second fiddle to a bunch of gimmicks and clichés. Is the car the real focus in this next commercial?


Here’s another thing that annoys the hell out of me.

2) TV/Movie trailers that completely spoil the episode/movie they are advertising.

I saw this ad for the Series Finale of In Plain Sight the other day.


Okay, they dropped a huge bomb right there. The ole L word got thrown around there. That’s one of the biggest plot twists in the series, and you wanna throw it out there in the preview? Ugh, now nothing will be left up to the imagination.

Movies can be even worse. This trailer I saw for “The Cabin In The Woods” pretty much gave away the entire movie. I don’t need to see the movie at all anymore. I could give you a complete plot synopsis after a 2 1/2 minute trailer. But don’t trust me, see it for yourself.


It’s important that you grab your potential audience and get them to come back, but you can do that without giving up all the vital information. There’s plenty of ways to do it; show some non-distinct action, hell, you could just show a girl whimpering and the screaming bloody murder. That would put asses in seats.

You don’t need to be a self-indulgent artistic wiener to push some products. You also don’t have to tell an entire story, to get people to come back to watch you retell an entire story…again.

I know I’m not the only one that sees this stuff, and just shakes their head. This ain’t the first, and it definitely won’t be the last, so count on my being back eventually with more media stuff that ticks me off. I don’t know what I have next for y’all, but I’ll try to keep it coming.

Keep your heads up, your minds sharp, and your hearts open.

– The Outlaw

Comments
  1. Miko S. says:

    Reposting this link here: http://youtu.be/3RuWsQkmYCc
    I still kinda want to see “Cabin in th Woods”. For some reason, everyone says it’s really good & there’s some twist(s) in it. So…maybe it being a show isn’t the twist o.O I dunno

Leave a Reply

