Long Time, No See

Posted: January 23, 2011 in Free Styling, School
Tags:

I knew that keeping up with a blog would be difficult. It’s been like what, 4 months since I last posted. Yea, I can do better.

Since then, I decided that I was going to go back to school to work on my bachelors degree. That accounts for most of the time spent from late November up to now, but let’s call late late September through late November a lapse of laziness. I’m looking at things a little bit differently now. Hopefully this new outlook that I’m taking will include more updates here.

So yes, I’m back in school. I’ve re-enrolled at UTA, and gotten into their Interdisciplinary Studies program. I want to take a balanced approach to Music Production, Audio Engineering, Video Production, Audio Post Production, and Broadcasting. There is no one program that will allow a broad approach like this, save for this program which in definition is the study of everything. The other departments are fighting me all along the way though, so we’ll see how long this lasts. Somehow though, I got into all the classes that I wanted for this semester, so I’ll keep going this route. The classes that I’m taking this semester are:

INTS 2301 Interdisciplinary Perspectives (MWF)
JOUR 1345 Intro to Writing for the Mass Media (MW)
BCMN 2358 Television Production I (MW)
MUSI 3394 Digital Music Technology (W)
ANTH 2322 Global Cultures (TuTh)

It feels like a fairly hefty load, considering that I’m going back to work in April or whenever. With any luck I’ll get through it. I may even survive.

Hopefully though some of these classes will turn out being pretty cool. TV Production should be pretty fun as we get into the meat of the semester. Digital Music Tech should also be cool as soon as we get done with music notation in Finale and move on to MIDI in Reason and actual recording and mixing in Pro Tools.

I’ll keep you updated.

Onwards and upwards.

– The Outlaw

Leave a Reply

