Trials and Tribulations

Posted: September 13, 2010 in Audio/Music, Eastchase, Free Styling
Tags: , , ,

It’s hard to believe that my music career hasn’t even taken off yet, and I’m already facing potential court cases over the music that me and my mates create. We don’t even have an album out yet, and already somebody is trying to claim ownership of our stuff. OK, yea, we had Under Construction, but I don’t really regard that as a legitimate album. We had a limited release, and I don’t think that anybody involved with it made any money off it. I certainly didn’t. Under Construction was a concept for a much greater idea, an idea that is just now starting to take shape.

When someone takes something physical from you, whether it be a wallet, jewelry, or anything else that you feel with your hand that you weren’t born with, you can put a price tag on it. Jewelry, while expensive, can be replaced. You can buy another computer, a new TV, new physical possessions. When someone takes an idea, it’s different. You can’t put value on an idea, and there is no way that it can be replaced. It also hurts your heart, your soul, and your mind.

You may remember that in a previous post, I discussed a person, that we as Eastchase brought into our circle a bit too fast, and in the end, made a mistake in turning to him. No need to mention his name again, so from here on forward, he will be referred to as VoxBoy. Well, ever since we let him go from Eastchase, he has been a thorn in our side, and a pain in our ass. Every. Step. Of. The. Way. Specifically, he continues to try to use, alter, and claim to be the creator of one of our most acclaimed songs: London Calling. Several months ago, Trinity thought that we had made our point, pretty finely, once and for all. As much as we would like to think that what’s done is done, it never is, and we keep our ears to the ground listening for news. Sure enough, news filters our way that VoxBoy is again using London Calling. I guess you have to admire VoxBoy’s persistence, but not too much. Fortunately for us, we have a Copyright on a large percentage of our library, London Calling included. Even though we hate it that he keeps using our stuff, if we catch him in the act, just once, their will be hell to pay. We thought we would have the opportunity to catch him with his pants down this past weekend when he was performing at a bar. Our undercover agents in the field reported to us however that he didn’t play any of our music. Very smart move on his part, or just no dice? I’ll let you decide. More than likely, we made our point this last time with a formal letter we sent to him, stating our intentions to sue him for all we could if he couldn’t keep his hands off our property.

I’m 23 years old. Shouldn’t I be too young to be threatening to sue someone? I should be focusing on getting my career rolling, on school, or work, or music…but not with making sure that I could get an attorney in short order to fast track a law suit for us. It’s wishful thinking, but I really hope I’m not going to have to deal with this crap anymore. I’ve already started making a case against VoxBoy though, so I’m going to have to keep my ear to the ground.

So much on my mind. I go back to work this week; next horse race season starts at Lone Star Park (Hey, I gotta get my money somehow. The pay is good, I just wish the hours were better, as in more). I also started thinking today that I might go back to school and try and get a bachelors degree. My mom met a TCC counselor at some function the other day that thinks that I could get back in as an interdisciplinary studies major, and walk back in as a junior or a senior without having to take any worthless core curriculum classes. I’m entertaining the idea, but like I said, I only just started thinking about it today. I’ll give the lady a shout anyways, see what she has to say.

Whatever happens, the music production will continue, keep your ears peeled for any news from Trinity or myself about how things are going. Nothing much to report right now. A few new songs in the mix, it’s all still a work in progress. Oh, wait! We do have two songs that are near finished! We have a few details that we still need to work out, but hey, maybe we’ll put something up on our MySpace soon for yall to listen to. No promises, but I’d like to get the stuff out there for yall to hear. I’ll keep you posted.

Keep doin what you do, and I’ll keep doin what I do.

– The Outlaw

Leave a Reply

